It’s Friday! Come meet our Grasshopper.

I woke up to a gray, drizzly and slightly chilly morning. I’m from the South and grew up in an area filled with lots of sunshine, so the level of cloudiness that envelops St. Louis sometimes gets to me but I rallied and headed to take the dogs out. But what do I spy just as I round the side of the building?

This cutie pie.

grasshopper on the hose

 

 

He was sitting on our hose, content as could be until he spied me looking at him. This was the only picture we managed to get before he jumped over the fence and out of sight. Bummer.

But on a positive note, at least he wasn’t as big as the dark brown/black grasshoppers that can be found in Alabama. I remember as a child, my parents taking me to visit a family cemetery in rural Calhoun County. The cemetery was overgrown and very old, and I remember getting out of the car and wandering around looking at the old tombstones. But I had wandered pretty far from the car and the grass was over knee high in many areas when I noticed the first big guy. He was sitting on a wrought iron fence that enclosed a family plot and then I noticed another, then another, and another…

Just thinking about it gives me the shivers. These grasshoppers were longer than my index finger and that cemetery was infested with em. My parents had grown up in the area and was use to them, but I hadn’t been and I wanted back in the car. So I high tailed it back over to it and dove in. I can still hear their laughter in my ears as I ducked and weaved around the plots while simultaneously trying not to walk on any of them, even though the ground was crawling with em.

*Sigh* They never let me live that down.

So Happy Friday everyone and here’s to a nice and pleasant weekend with no big scary grasshoppers. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

